Wait Till Fifty

Johnson, Johnson
Now I’ve split,
After you said
You’d have none of it,
Shocked I was
My ego crushed,
So I am thinking
Perhaps I rushed.

I should have waited
Fifty years,
To soften up
Your deep held fears,
So, let it simmer
On your back burner,
I forgot what Trish said:
Johnsons a slow learner.

I’ll save a walker
Just for you,
Some quadrifocals
And a hearing aid too,
A knitted cardigan
And good support hose,
A BATA bus pass
And a plastic rose.

Will you be ready then?
I’ll never lose hope,
Oh, Johnson, Johnson
Might we then elope?

7/15/14

Leave a Reply

