Thrashed

Coughed over and over
For hours on end,
Thrashed my vocal cords
So now I must mend,
With a Note from the Doctor
A “Voice-Rest” she stated,
After barking so much
Voice volume abated.

Talk half less
And whisper if you can,
The Doctor said do that
Yup, that is my plan,
Easier said
More difficult to perform,
It’s hard to stop speaking
When accustomed to the norm.

But talking begets hoarsness
Inflammation leads to sorrow,
My voice will be hijacked
And missing tomorrow,
Working Monday-Wednesday-Friday
Perhaps that will assist,
But if I don’t follow the plan
My voice will be dismissed.

Leave a Reply

